“I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library” – Jorge Luis Borges

DSC_1114

Every year, since 2013, I have written down all the books I’ve read throughout the year. It started off as a little personal experiment; I was curious to know how many books, and the type of books, I read in a year. In the two years that followed I have actively tried to beat my record, so now it’s become a sort of game for me. So, what’s the score so far? Well, in 2013 I read 44 books, in 2014 I read 53, and in 2015 I managed to read 70 books! 

70 books in 2015. That’s about 1.3 books a week (yes, I did the maths). I have to admit, some of books I’ve included in the list are graphic novels. These are a lot easier to read so I can pretty much finish them in a couple of hours. But it’s not really cheating since some of those graphic novels, such as Marjane Satrapi’s Persepolis and Alan Moore’s V for Vendetta, are a couple hundred pages long and do contain quite a bit of text (no, I’m not trying to make excuses for myself). I noticed that the range of genres I read from is incredibly eclectic, from classics such as Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales, to young adult fiction such as Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys. I also seem to read a lot of sci-fi (Isaac Asimov and H. G. Wells anyone?), fantasy (Terry Pratchett all the way!), and horror (can’t go wrong with H. P. Lovecraft) too. I find all of this very comforting as it proves that there really isn’t anything I won’t read!

Something I decided to do differently in my 2015 list was to write down the month in which I read the book. This was really helpful for me because I could easily see how many books I was able to get through in a particular month. It goes without saying that I was able to read a lot more in months where I didn’t really have to do any university work. For example, in August, during the summer holidays. I managed to read 11 books, whereas in November, during term time, I only managed to read four (two of which were graphic novels).

I think it’s a little unrealistic of me to try and beat my 2015 record this year…but that doesn’t mean I’m not going to try! Stay tuned for my update in 2017 to find out how I get on 😉

Leave a Reply

