Science vs Humanities: My Story

science  books and tea cup

I’ve always had a foot in both camps: the science one and the humanities one. At school, it was always really difficult for me to choose just one path, so I just did everything! When choosing a university I was worried that I would have to make a decision: team science or team humanities. As it happens, I could have my cake and eat it too. I was able to major in biology and minor in literature.

In the three years of my bachelor programme, I noticed the conflict between the two disciplines. It was clear to me that in the academic world, the sciences seemed to be valued a lot more and more money was invested. After I completed my bachelors, I decided to leave the science behind for a while and do a masters in literature. This decision sparked a second realisation. According to almost everyone I spoke to, I was making a bad decision – why would I, with a bachelor of science, choose to do a masters in humanities? Didn’t I know that sticking to the sciences would be the better option for me job wise? But I’m currently half way through my masters and I think it’s the best decision I could have made. I absolutely love what I’m studying and I couldn’t be happier!

I haven’t completely left the sciences behind though. I still read science articles and engage in scientific debates/discussions, and I have this blog. I actually started this blog as a way of combining my interests. I wanted to have a place where I could explore science and literature in equal measure. My hope is that people reading this blog will discover things that didn’t think they could be interested in, and that they’ll learn something along the way. I’m personally sick and tired of people thinking that the sciences and the humanities can’t co-exist, that being interested in one of the disciplines means that you can’t like the other. I’m also tired of people telling me that I don’t study anything of value, that I won’t be able to find a job, that I should have stuck with the sciences…

Studying the humanities gives you different, but equally valuable, skills. In my experience, a lot of science students tend to lack good communication skills and they’re not the best at writing clear essays or explaining scientific concepts. Humanity students don’t really have these problems. On the other hand, humanities students are often not very good at abstract and analytical thinking. So, both paths have their pros and cons; one is NOT better than the other. Due to my love of both disciplines, I’ve tried to develop my skills in both these areas. I try to be a good communicator as well as an analytical thinker. I enjoy discussing literature and history with people who are more scientifically minded, and I love explaining scientific concepts to those who usually shirk from them. I think everybody needs to experience, discuss, and learn things that are out of their comfort zone – most of the time this makes us a more interesting, well rounded person. Ultimately, this was my main idea behind this blog; to show people that science and the humanities can co- exist, to learn more about the things that fascinate me, and to share this knowledge with others.

Leave a Reply

