Reading Update: March

73a7e7e8bb3440b4ab31c89f4946c613March has been a very good reading month for me. Unfortunately, I haven’t really done anything else productive this month. I have completely neglected my thesis work, I haven’t gone out as much, I haven’t used my new museum card at all, and I haven’t made the time to write any blog posts! On the plus side though, I’ve read a lot. And since reading makes me happy, I would say that I’ve spent this month in a state of bliss (except when I start thinking about my poor neglected thesis…). 

These reading updates are a new thing for me. I’ve decided to use this blog to track my reading progress every month. My plan is to write a list of all the books I’ve read in that month, and maybe add a couple of sentences about each one (since I’m really not able, time wise, to write book reviews for every single one. Unfortunately, I’m not that type of book blogger).

Books read in March:

  • 10:04 by Ben Lerner

Meh, don’t have any strong feelings about this one. The premise was interesting enough, but it just left me feeling rather ambiguous. 2/5 stars

  • The Body Snatcher by Robert Louis Stevenson

A creepy, gothic tale that I enjoyed. Unfortunately, the ending fell a little flat. 3/5 stars

  • Grey Souls by Philippe Claudel

A perfect blend of history and tragedy. Showed a different side of WWI that I’d never even thought about. Read it in two days because I couldn’t put it down! 4/5 stars

  • The Sexual Life of an Islamist in Paris by Leila Maroune

Funny, poignant, and narratively challenging. I also really enjoyed learning more about my Algerian culture through this novel. 4/5

  • Hocus Pocus by Kurt Vonnegut

You can’t go wrong with Vonnegut! This is not my favourite Vonnegut novel (Mother Night and Sirens of Titan are, if you’re interested) but I loved it just the same. 4/5 stars

  • Ice by Vladimir Sorokin 4/5

Couldn’t put this down! Loved the premise! Contained a lot of sexual violence though, which I wasn’t such a big fan of. 4/5 stars

  • The Murder of Halland by Pia Juul

Really not impressed with this one. It tricks you into thinking that it’s going to be a murder mystery, but it actually isn’t. I know that that was the point, but it still disappointed me. 2/5 stars

  • NW by Zadie Smith

Set in London so made me very homesick, but in a good way. Loved reading the slang and the dialects (another reason for my homesickness). Was not particularly impressed with the choppy writing style though. 3/5 stars

  • Funny Girl by Nick Hornby

Nick Hornby never fails to crack me up. This novel was just so lovely, a real ‘feel good’ read. 4/5 stars

  • The House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz

Horowitz writes a new Sherlock Holmes story and it’s brilliant! 4/5 stars

  • The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle

I just love Sherlock Holmes, can’t you tell? In this particular collection, The Adventure of the Copper Beeches is my favourite story. 4/5 stars

So, what did you read in March?

Leave a Reply

