Reading Update: July

13217325_1255580547794266_4348758379746031871_o

July is my favourite month. It’s summer, it’s my birthday month, and it’s finally the holidays! For me: the holidays = more time for reading 😉 So here’s what I read this month…

  • SuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki

Another amazing graphic novel! This one was silly and fun, but still touched upon some more serious topics, such as sexuality, teenage angst, and that feeling of not knowing what you want to do for the rest of your life now that your studies are over…we’ve all been there. As the title suggests, the characters are all ‘supermutants’ with extremely strange abilities (don’t want to spoil it, it’s funnier if you find it out for yourself 😉 ).  4/5 stars

  • An Age of License by Lucy Knisley

Since I have decided to travel extensively over the next few months (you know, before I have to get a job and join the real world), this graphic novel really resonated with me. Lucy draws about her ‘age of license’, a time when she travelled through Europe figuring stuff out and enjoying life. Her art is incredible and her story is heartwarming. I’m looking forward to having my own ‘age of license’ pretty soon. 3/5 stars

  • Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

Such a creepy graphic novel, but so, so good! Anya falls down a well and meets a ghost. This ghost initially becomes an unlikely friend, but soon turns mean and controlling. Anya must embrace her Russian identity as she attempts to banish the ghost. Loved the story, loved the pictures, loved the creepiness! 4/5 stars

  • American Born Chinese  by Gene Luen Yang

This graphic novel follows a Chinese boy, Jin Wang, as he struggles through life in America, dealing with racism, identity, and falling in love. It combines Chinese folklore with a touching coming of age story. Also, the art work is amazing! 4/5 stars

  • The Raven King by Maggie Steifvater

The concluding book to The Raven Cycle series…was a bit of a disappointment (remember, this is just my opinion!). I’m glad that Steifvater tied up all the loose ends and that Ronan had a lot of ‘page time’ (he’s my favourite character). But the whole Glendower thing was so anticlimactic and that’s what made it disappointing. 3/5 stars

  • Paradise Lodge by Nina Stibbe

You can check out my full review for this one here. 4/5 stars

  • Lieveling (translated title: Sweetie) by Kim van Kooten

This is a Dutch novel about a child, Puck, and the sexual abuse that she suffers at the hands of her stepfather. It was a pretty difficult read, in terms of subject matter, and knowing that it was based on a true story made the whole experience slightly worse. The novel is written from Puck’s point of view, and follows her from the age of five to about fourteen. In my opinion, this was a great narrative device because it helped to see things directly from her point of view – made the impact of the story that much greater. Even though it was a difficult read, I still appreciated the novel as a whole. 4/5 stars

  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Another masterpiece from Gaiman. This novel was told beautifully and I adored it. I saw the movie a few years back and liked it, but the book is way better (isn’t it always 😛 ). The story is so magical and the characters are lovable (except the witches – they’re plain evil). It’s full of laughter and drama and fun. 4/5 stars

  • Mort by Terry Pratchett

Terry Pratchett is hilarious! This is the second book from his discworld series that I’ve read, and it’s my favourite so far. Mort, a human boy, becomes Death’s apprentice and all hell (no pun intended) breaks loose. There’s adventure, humour, and romance (as much as a story about death can be…) It’s brilliant! 4/5 stars

 

What were your favourite books this month? I have some birthday money burning a hole in my pocket, so any recommendations as to what to spend it on would be great 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Reading Update: July

    1. Thanks for the suggestions! I’ve actually already read 1Q84, Norwegian Wood, After Dark, and Sputnik Sweetheart. But Kafka on the Shore has been on my ‘to buy’ list for a while, so maybe I’ll get that one! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

