Reading Update: August

blog image (reading update august)

September has already started so I’m a bit behind with posting my reading update for last month…sorry!  I’m currently back at home in London, visiting my family, and I’ve had plenty time for reading. My mum is also a big reader, so we spent many days in August sitting together on the couch and reading…pure bliss in my opinion 🙂 

So here’s what I managed to read last month…

  • Interview with the Vampire by Anne Rice

This novel is a pretty classic vampire novel (along with Bram Stoker’s Dracula too of course). Since I adore the fantasy/supernatural genre I have wanted to read this book for quite a while. The beginning of the novel was interesting as Louis, a 200 year old vampire, discusses his life as a creature of the night. However, in my opinion, the novel was rather long and I lost interest as it went on. 3/5 stars

  • NOS4R2 by Joe Hill

Loved this book so much! Can you tell that I like reading about vampires by the way? It was terrifying, and gripping, and so addictive. I really enjoyed Hill’s writing style and the way he effortlessly combines themes of horror with a story about a mother’s unconditional love for her child. 5/5 stars

  • Half a Life by V.S Naipaul

This novel won the Nobel prize for literature and I’m struggling to understand why…Nothing much happens: The protagonist, Willie, is born in India, moves to London to be educated, and then spends most of his adult life in Africa. The novel discusses themes of identity but it wasn’t particularly gripping and the ending was incredibly disappointing. Not really one I’d recommend, unfortunately. 2/5 stars

  • Coming up for Air by George Orwell

I wanted to read some more stuff by Orwell (since I love 1984 and Animal Farm so much) so when I found this in the library I had to borrow it. It’s one of Orwell’s least known novel and, in my opinion, it isn’t as good as some of his others. Yet, saying that, I did enjoy settling into Orwell’s writing style once again. 3/5 stars

  • Alex + Ada (volume one) by Jonathan Luna and Sarah Vaughn

The main theme of this graphic novel is artificial intelligence. It also aims to discuss one of the biggest questions in the arena of AI: what makes us human? I found it very interesting to read about this in a graphic novel format, and it made me think about my own opinions regarding AI and the issue of humanity. I’m looking forward to reading the other two volumes soon! 4/5 stars

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (illustrated edition) by J. K. Rowling (illustrated by Jim Kay)

I received this book for my birthday this year and it started me off on a summer HP binge…The illustrations in this book are so beautiful! Some of my favourites included the images of Harry wearing the Sorting Hat, Hagrid, and Fluffy. 5/5 stars (HP for life!)

  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J. K. Rowling

I took great delight in reading CoS again. I had forgotten many of the things that happen in the book, such as Nearly Headless Nick’s “Death Day Party” on Halloween, and it was a nice surprise to it read again. 5/5 stars

  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J. K. Rowling

This book was my favourite in the series when I was a child. Reading it again, after all this time, I was reminded as to why I love this book so much. Sirius Black and Remus Lupin are brilliant characters. I adore their relationship with Harry and with each other. 5/5 stars

  • Quidditch Through the Ages by J. K. Rowling

Decided to buy this on a whim, due to my HP binge, and I really enjoyed it. It made me laugh and I was pretty impressed by how detailed Rowling developed the world of Quidditch. 5/5 stars…obviously  🙂

  • A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs

I enjoyed this fun sci-fi classic…but not enough to read the other ten books in the series. The novel follows Earth man, John Carter, and his adventures on Mars, fighting ‘aliens’ in his attempt to save the princess. It was a lot of fun to read and I loved the adventure. 3/5 stars

Do you have any August favourites? Would love to read about them in the comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

