2016: Reading in Review

goodreads

In January 2016 I decided to take part in the Goodreads Reading Challenge for the first time. I set my target to 71 books based on my reading patterns from the previous years when I used to write down all the books I read in a notebook. To my surprise, when I checked my Goodreads account yesterday, I had managed to read 100 books! A few of these books were graphic novels, and I think it also helped that I was completing a Literature Masters degree and had to read books for my courses, so thanks to that I was able to read a lot more than I thought.

Now here are some of my favourite books of last year:

  • Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman…actually, anything by Gaiman is a winner since I loved Anansi Boys too!
  • Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
  • Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff
  • Bluebeard by Kurt Vonnegut
  • The Island of Doctor Moreau by H. G. Wells
  • NOS4R2 by Joe Hill
  • Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  • Books v. Cigarettes by George Orwell

I’ll stop there before I get too carried away…

One of my personal targets for 2016 was to read more diversely. I wanted to experience novels written by authors who were not from the UK or America. I’ve listed them all below (with their country of origin in brackets) because I want to give you some ideas if you also read the world. Saying that, the list is a bit long so feel free to skip the next bit if you’re not interested, I wont be offended 😉

  • Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez (Colombia)
  • Dorodo by Osamu Tezuka (Japan)
  • After Dark and Sputnick Sweetheart by Haraki Murakami (Japan)
  • The Redbreast, The Bat and Headhunters by Jo Nesbo (Norway)
  • My Struggle by Karl Ove Knausgard (Norway)
  • The Prophet by Khalil Gibran (Lebanon)
  • The Alchemist by Paulo Coehlo (Brazil)
  • December Heat by Luiz Alfredo Garcia Rosa (Brazil)
  • Lieveling by Kim van Kooten (Netherlands)
  • The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga (India)
  • Half a Life by V. S. Naipaul (Trinidad)
  • A Place in the Old Village by Tahar Ben Jelloun (Morocco)
  • An Unfinished Business by Sansal Boualem (Algeria)
  • The Sirens of Baghdad and Swallows of Kabul by Yasmina Khadra (France/Algeria)
  • The Sexual Life of an Islamist in Paris by Leila Marouane (France/Algeria)
  • Grey Souls by Philippe Claudel (France)
  • Whatever by Michel Houellebecq  (France)
  • The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupery (France)
  • In the Cafe of Lost Youth by Patrick Modiano (France)
  • Ice by Vladimir Sorokin (Russia)
  • The Murder of Halland by Pia Juul (Denmark)
  • Invisible Cities by Italo Calvino (Italy)
  • My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante (Italy)
  • Fortunate Slave by Tom Lanoye (Belgium)

I’m quite glad that I managed to read a fair few novels from around the world but I would still like to continue my journey. Please feel free to recommend any books that you feel I should add to my list for 2017 so that I can still broaden my literary horizons.

At the moment I have yet to set my 2017 challenge. I’m not sure if I should aim to read 75 books or 105. I want to be realistic (considering that I’m going to be travelling a lot this year and will be spending more time in the real world than in my beloved literary ones), yet I also want to challenge myself. I am very aware that this is a first world, bibliophile problem, but still, any advice?

4 thoughts on “2016: Reading in Review

    1. Do you mean my personal connection? If so, I’ve always been interested in books and science, and have always studied them at school and at university. I have a Bachelors degree in Human Biology and Literature, and a Master degree in Literature and Culture. With this blog, I wanted to showcase both of my passions, even if they don’t always overlap 🙂 Hope that answers your question.

      Like

Leave a Reply

