Hello! It’s been forever!

I’m writing this from Paris, on a balcony from which I can see the Eiffel Tower. I’m in Paris for a few days with some friends and my sister, and since I had some down time, I figured it was finally time to say: “Hello! It’s been forever!”

I haven’t logged into my WordPress account in ages. I feel like a stranger in my own home (ok, maybe that’s a bit extreme, but you know what I mean…). I’m not sure how many of your have actually noticed my absence since I’m not a very prolific blogger, but it’s still nice to be back and to be writing again.

So let me tell you a bit about where I’ve been.

On January 9th 2017, I set off from London on a solo world trip that would last four and half months. In that time I visited nine countries: Thailand, Cambodia, Vietnam, Singapore, Indonesia (Bali), Australia, New Zealand, Peru, and Mexico. It was, as you can probably imagine, one of the most difficult and rewarding things I’ve done in my life (so far). Travelling alone was very liberating and I met so many people along the way that I probably would never have spoken to if I wasn’t alone. I experienced various different cultures, I tested my personal boundaries by diving twice (once in Bali and once in the Great Barrier Reef) and by jumping out of a plane (in New Zealand), and I saw a few wonders of the world (Angkor Wat, Machu Picchu, and the Great Barrier Reef). I also experienced crippling loneliness, I missed a flight, and I had money stolen from me. Yet, overall it was a trip to remember.

I returned to London (which is home for now) in mid May, before taking a short trip to Spain at the beginning of June. I’m currently in Paris, and then I’ll be heading to Amsterdam in July for a bit. So as you can see, I’m not done with travelling just yet 🙂 At the moment, I am also applying for jobs but it’s proving to be more difficult than I thought. I’m ideally looking to enter a career in publishing but I haven’t had much luck yet. Luckily for me, my mum is extremely supportive and is constantly encouraging me to keep applying, so I’m confident that I’ll find something soon.

I think that’s it. You’ve been caught up on everything. I now have a lot of blog posts to write since I read a lot of books on my trip and saw a lot of curious creatures along the way. So stay tuned for what’s coming up next on When Literature and Science Collide!

 

 

Leave a Reply

