My World Trip Favourites

19875742_1666289740049257_86618044_o
Reading Under the Dome in an Australian park

My world trip lasted four and a half months and during that time I read 11 books. I discovered that most hostels have a book shelf where you can swap a book that you’ve read for a new one; what a brilliant idea! Here are some five star treasures I found around the world.

  • Under the Dome by Steven King

This is the first Steven King book that I’ve read, and man did I love it! It was a mammoth novel but it sucked me right in and I couldn’t put it down. In the novel, a mysterious dome springs up around the town of Chester’s Mill. The inhabitants within the dome are soon terrified and all hell breaks loose! I was very impressed with the level of detail that King provides in this novel. Each aspect of the dome, and the way it affects the people living in Chester’s Mill, are very well thought out. I enjoyed seeing the character development, the way each character changed throughout the novel as all hope seemed lost and basic resources started to run out. The novel showcases human psychology in a brilliant way, and it was just a joy to read. 5/5 stars

  • The Beach by Alex Garland

I found this one in Thailand, and since it’s set in Thailand it was a perfect read! The protagonist, Richard, discovers the perfect beach on a Thai island. It’s untouched by tourism and the few people who live there seem enlightened and happy. But before he knows it, Richard’s utopia becomes hellish as characters turn on each other in a very Lord of the Flies way. There’s maximum drama, excitement, and suspense; it’s an excellent read. 5/5 stars

  • Monstrous Regiment by Terry Pratchett

I read this in Australia and it distracted me from some god awful hostels (don’t get me wrong, I loved loved loved Australia, I just stayed in some really crappy places). Pratchett never fails to make me laugh, but this novel was extra special in my opinion. It follows Polly, a bar maid, as she attempts to look for her missing brother by disguising her gender and entering the army. Before she knows it, she’s thrust into danger and has to rely on her wits and her fellow men to help her achieve her quest. But these men are not as they seem, and it soon becomes apparent that Polly wasn’t the only girl who joined the army under a disguise. Hilarity and drama ensue as the characters try to get to grips with each other whilst struggling to prove themselves in a male dominated world not unlike our own (there, I said it, I’m a feminist, deal with it 😛 ). I really loved this novel because it was continuously funny, and also because it touched upon issues of feminism and identity. 5/5 stars

  • Smoke and Mirrors by Neil Gaiman

As some of you may know, I’m obsessed with Neil Gaiman and everything he writes. I found this little gem just before I left New Zealand. It was tucked right at the back of the bookshelf, hidden behind some other books. I just had to rescue it. Smoke and Mirrors is a collection of fantastical short stories. Each tale is beautifully crafted, filled with magic, a tinge of creepy-ness, and heaps of adventure. 5/5 stars

Have you read any of these? What did you think? Let me know in the comments section 🙂

Leave a Reply

